About The Rockford Police Department

Chief Carla Redd 5x7The Rockford Police Department is under the command of Chief Carla Redd and has an authorized strength of 302 sworn officers. Rockford Police Department members are committed to reducing crime and enhancing the quality of life through an active partnership with our community.

For Administration, Community Services, Detective Bureau, District 1, District 2, District 3, Patrol, Shift Commander, Traffic, Domestic Violence, Evidence and Property, Records, Recruiting, and Narcotics please call 779-500-6555.

View information about the district stations.

The Fire and Police Commission

The Fire and Police Commission oversees hiring and promotions within the Rockford Police and Fire Departments.

The Police and Fire Commission is comprised of Ingrid Hargrove, Rudy Valdez (Chairman), and Jon Reidy.

If you’re interested in a career with the Rockford Police Department, visit our recruiting site at RPDWANTSYOU.com 

Winnebago County Jail

Please call 815-319-6000 to contact the Winnebago County Jail.