Traffic Commission


  • 6 pm
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month (Except December)
  • City Hall
    2nd Floor, Conference Room A
    425 East State Street
    Rockford, IL 61104

This public meeting takes place once a month to hear and make decisions on various petitions to establish or change traffic control, street parking restrictions, and speed limits, as well as other traffic and safety issues.

Agenda & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

For access to Traffic Commission Meeting agendas, minutes, or workbooks prior to January 2018, please contact Traffic Engineering at 779-348-7173.


The City of Rockford Traffic Commission is comprised of twelve (12) members. Members include five citizens who are appointed by the Mayor. The other seven members are representatives of various Rockford government agencies including the City Council, Public Works Department, Planning Department, Fire Department, Police Department, Rockford Mass Transit District, and Rockford Public School District.

Traffic Commission Requests

To request that an item be added to an upcoming agenda, please submit the form below to the Traffic Engineering Division by emailing Jeannette Smith or emailing Kerry Lin or by mail to City Hall, 5th Floor, 425 E State Street, Rockford, IL 61104.

Traffic Commission Request Form (PDF)